Something Out of Your Man’s Bathroom: The Beauty of Styling Wax

Hair wax has quickly become my new best friend. After returning to Australia just in time for a scorching summer, I have realised that I need some new ways to style my very long, very thick, very heat-retaining hair. Bring on the up-do! Having all my hair off my face and off my neck makes the Queensland heat (I’m talking 40 Celsius or 104 Fahrenheit)  just that much more bearable. But the question was – how do I do this in a stylish way?

My answer: styling wax.

image

Before applying wax.

Slicking back any up-do with a comb and some styling wax is the perfect way to look chic in the summer heat, but it is also a brilliant way to hide hair that looks greasy within 1 hour of leaving home because you are sweating so bad! And the added bonus – you can find it conveniently located in your man’s toiletries. And if you don’t have styling wax, you can use hair gel or hairspray.

Being an (un)natural blonde I have a lot of flyways from hairs that have snapped, which means that without any product, I look like I’m conducting a lot of static electricity (see the picture to the right).

The best way that I have found to apply the styling wax is by first brushing your hair all the way through, from roots to tips, and then brushing it backwards so that all of your hair is smoothed back from your face.

After applying styling wax.

Take some wax, just one decent size swipe of your finger and rub it between your fingertips. I used VO5 Styling Wax. Then run your fingertips through your hair starting at the root at the top of your forehead and around your face and combing your fingers back to the crown of your scalp (the top, back). Depending on how thick your hair is and the product you are using you may need another scoop. I applied two finger scoops to get my desired effect.

Next, comb your hair back into the desired position that you want your ponytail, making sure that any flyways are flattened down, that your hair is all straight back and flat to your scalp and secure your pony with a hair tie. When doing a messy bun, I typically put my hair into a tight pony before wrapping my hair into a bun. In this example I did a low ponytail and finished it off by wrapping the hair tie with a small section of my ponytail and fastening with a bobby pin.

* Mummy Tip: your munchkin isn’t exempt from this nifty little trick either. If you need them looking tidy (which can be an extremely difficult task at times), hair wax is a great alternative to hairspray, which my daughter doesn’t like because of the smell and the feel of suffocating when you actually spray it onto your hair… I can’t say I blame her.

So begins my friendship with styling wax. I just know we are going to be spending a lot of time together this summer! Until next time beauties!

With love,

Natasha x

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways Psalm 91:11

4 Comments

October 28, 2014 · 10:01 am

4 responses to “Something Out of Your Man’s Bathroom: The Beauty of Styling Wax

  1. That’s such a good idea for a sleek ponytail! I’m definitely going to be pinching my boyfriends!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theneutraltone

    Great post! Looking great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

