A Controversial Debate: Sponge vs. Brush?

Sponge vs. Brush

Hello my friends!

My mum bought me a foundation sponge the other day and told me to use it because “everyone was raving about them”. I am a brusher, and quite happily so, but I thought I better try this amazing sponge out to appease my mum. I wanted to share with you what I found out about both applicators.

The Sponge:

The sponge definitely gives a more even and better blended finish. There was absolutely no streaking while using thesponge sponge and the end result was a lot smoother, but also thinner than with a brush. If you prefer a light cover of foundation, the sponge will do just that. However, using the sponge, I found it difficult to get in close around my eyes and the corners of my nose. The actual shape of the sponge makes it tricky to get into these awkward places. Perhaps I need lessons on technique (?) but I couldn’t work out how to apply my under-eye concealer properly and ended up resorting to ol’ faithful.

The Brush:

With a brush you can definitely achieve heavier coverage – less is absorbed into a brush than the sponge, and you can apply a larger amount each time. With a brush you can get into the trickier areas more simply. Although a brush is streakier and it takes a fair bit more effort to get a blended finish. My overall conclusion between the brush and the sponge is that they are best used together! Initial application with the brush to all areas, and then blending and smoothing with the sponge. Sorry to be annoying but it seems to be the best technique! If I had to choose one, however, it would definitely be the brush. With my regime and skin type, I need the convenience and versatility of the brush – I can use it easily with foundation, under-eye concealer and blemish concealer.

I have tried several different foundation brushes, including Bobbi Brown, MAC and supermarket brands. My favourite so far has been a generic eI bought from the chemist – it’s so basic it doesn’t even have a label printed on the brush. I threw away the packaging ages ago so unfortunately, I can’t even tell you the brand BUT I can say this – when it comes to foundation brushes, they don’t seem to get better with price. Feel free to prove me wrong!

Chat soon!

With love,

Natasha x

Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need (Hebrews 4:16)

 

 

2 Comments

October 23, 2014 · 3:05 am

2 responses to “A Controversial Debate: Sponge vs. Brush?

  1. fashionablykind

    The Sigma F80 is my go to. The best foundation brush I have ever had! Not a bad price either!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

