Dem Tresses: The Best Product for Taming that Mane

photo 1

I have a wild mane. A thick head of hair that I don’t enjoy brushing. The list goes on with all the ways I’ve mistreated my hair. Being an (un)natural blonde means that it is often dry, damaged and knotty. Living between Southern California and South East Queensland, my hair cops loads of sun, chlorine and salt water.  Even when I have split ends I loathhhhh cutting it. And finally, as if my hair doesn’t get put through enough, I am currently taking accutane (aka isotretinoin) for my skin which completely dries out your hair – not to mention your eyes, lips and skin! So to find a product that actually works to hydrate my hair and make it silky smooth is mind boggling! Especially when I The best hair moisturiser out!actually know what the product is, instead of walking out of the hair salon having the “I love the way my hair feels” feeling but never knowing what on earth they used to get my hair to feel that way!

Drum roll please… I would like to introduce to you the much acclaimed yet extremely understated His & Hers Hair Moisturiser Booster! Australian made and owned with protein and UV filters, this little gem actually does what it claims to – protecting, restoring and maintaining moisture balance in your hair!

So how does this product compare to the alternatives?

As you can imagine, I’ve tried a lot of different products over the years to help hydrate my locks.

On that list there have been a variety of oils and serums ranging from olive oil (don’t ask) and coconut oil, to your typical supermarket products, to more expensive salon quality ones. Compared to these types of photo 2products, His & Hers doesn’t leave you with dirty, greasy looking hair and there is no real risk of over-doing it, which I cannot say about oils and serums. The amount of times that I, or one of my sisters have put too much oil in our hair or applied it too close to the scalp, and come out looking like we don’t shower is just silly (but pretty funny). Instead of assisting with grooming, products like oils and serums have often just left me feeling like the inside of a deep fryer. While you only need to use one fingernail size blob of the His & Hers, I have never once ended up with clumped together or oily looking hair, even when I squirt a little too much out the tube. On a side note, I do love to occasionally run some coconut oil through my hair for its restorative qualities but I certainly can’t use it as an every day product like I can with His & Hers.

Compared to the different conditioners I have used (in the shower), I find that the effects of His & Hers is photo 4longer lasting and for those times when you don’t have access to your favourite shampoo and conditioner (because you’re on holiday, you’re at a friends house or you forgot to write it on the grocery list), His & Hers can remedy the effects of a lousy conditioner without any issues. Honestly, if I have my His & Hers it doesn’t bother me what shampoo and conditioner I use in the shower, so its my first pick of hair products to take when I travel.

I have also tried using sprays in my hair – anything from heat protectant to “beach hair” sprays in an effort to smooth my hair. My hair is naturally wavy, so what His & Hers does is level out flyways and soften the individual strands so that my hair still has the beachy look I love but sits smoothly because it is hydrated rather than matted because it is completely parched.

bailey hair* Mummy Tip: this product is what I use to get a brush through my daughters long and tangled tresses – like mummy like daughter!

How to use it?

While your hair is still wet after you get out of the shower, rub a large fingernail size blob between your hands then run it through your hair. Depending on the length of your hair, I would first rub it through the bottom half of your hair, making sure your ends receive most of the goodness then put whatever is left on your hands through the top half of your hair. I normally run my fingers through my hair a few times when applying the product to make sure it is evenly spread. Then, when your hair dries it will be lovely, soft and smooth.

How long does the tube last?

Only applying this product every other day (when I wash my hair), a tube has lasted me 9 months. Incredible, I know! When I am in the sun more frequently, I use more, because it acts as a sunscreen for your hair also.

How much will it cost me?

Now this is actually the best part – this product only cost me $12.95 AUD from my local salon. Bargain!

Even though I luuuuuuurv this product, I want to know about your favourite products for taming your mane or whether or not you have any feedback about this product. Enter your comments bellow! Keep an eye out for my next post as I will be sharing with you a little treasure that will bring style, and freedom to your summer threads. Until next time my beautiful ladies!

With love,

Natasha x

 Grey hair is a crown of glory; it is gained by living a Godly life. (Proverbs 16:31)

Leave a comment

October 16, 2014 · 8:03 am

Leave a Reply

